Member in Motion, N - Networking

Member in Motion – Maria Nesbit

This week our Membership Monday Member Spotlight is shining on Maria Nesbit, who has been an active member of the Rockport-Fulton Chamber of Commerce for a total of five years!

Tell us a little about you in 5 sentences or less. I was born and raised in Veracruz, Mexico. I graduated from Universidad Cristobal Colon with a Bachelor of Business Administration. A wild wind from the ocean brought me to Rockport, TX where I settled since 1988. I taught Spanish for 26 years and Photography for 3 years in Rockport-Fulton High School.  My passion for photography led into a new career. The closer I got to my retirement, the more passionate I became about creating and sharing my photography. I held a vision about having my own studio, covered with photographs of those little bits of life that I have been fortunate to enjoy. I feel extremely grateful for the countless support I get from my family and friends.

What led you to join the Chamber? I started my photography business Capturing Bliss Photography,  in 2012 with a partner, while I was still teaching. We joined the Rockport-Fulton Chamber because I knew  it would give us opportunities to grow, to network, and to get involved in our community. When I retired in 2018 my dream materialized when I opened my own photography studio. Maria Nesbit Photography Studio and Gallery. I rejoined the Chamber as a new  business owner.

What experience have you had previous to joining the Chamber? How has the Chamber made a difference in your business journey? In my previous career, as an educator, I had several  positive experiences with the chamber’s involvement with the schools and community. The Rockport-Fulton Chamber of Commerce has provided me with tools to grow my business, and opportunities to network with other business and gain new clients.

It’s clear your Chamber membership has worked for you. Share your thoughts as to why?As a new business owner,  I have received a great return on my investment, for the yearly cost of the membership. My Ribbon Cutting event is a great example of the advantages of being a member. All the networking events, learning tools, and the credibility,  have made a significant difference in my business.

Can you give some insight into how you incorporate Chamber activities into your busy schedule? Monday Memo is an easy way to keep you posted on what’s happening. Grow With Google, and Business after Hours are some examples of great Chamber’s activities.
Now that you’ve joined the Chamber, how has your business changed? How much has your business grown since joining the Chamber? Maria Nesbit Photography Studio and Gallery started in July 2018. My very first Chamber related  event was my Ribbon Cutting Ceremony which was extremely successful. My business has steadily grown since then.
What were 3 major victories you experienced with the Chamber? Chamber Directory Exposure, Credibility and Networking opportunities

Has your membership in the Chamber improved other areas of your life? If so, explain what areas and how. Networking with other business owners has led to new friendships.

Are there any tips or advice you’d give to new members of the Chamber to help them succeed early on? Get involved with the Chamber’s events, Network with other members and gain new clients, and Participate in learning events.
If someone is thinking about joining the Chamber, what would you tell them?
Join the Chamber. Your business will have a lot more credibility and exposure. Networking with chamber members leads  to new clients.
Click here to tell a friend to join the Chamber.

Leave a comment